Phase 3 – Oh. Em. Gee.

All righty, now that Halloween is over, it’s time to get back to your regularly-scheduled nerdy blogs. Today, I am going to fangirl all over you about Marvel.


 

I don’t know why Marvel is kicking DC’s ass in the movie business, but I love it. Not that I don’t love me some good DC, of course. As you all know, Harley Quinn is my main squeeze when it comes to cosplay. However, I have always been, and probably always will be, a Marvel girl, much to the dismay of my DC-loving boyfriend. Considering Iron Man is my favorite superhero and also considering that until these last couple of years, the Green Goblin was my favorite super villain, my favoritism for Marvel should really surprise no one.

I’m sure most of you know (or at least I HOPE that most of you know) about Marvel releasing its “phase 3” in their MCU movies and I’m certain that almost everyone in the entire world with access to a computer has seen the trailer for Avengers: Age of Ultron and the Deadpool movie. Ahhh. It’s so nice to talk to some fellow nerds… even though I’m really just talking… er… writing at you and I don’t really know if you’re that nerdy. Ahem.

Anywho, Marvel is making some huge decisions regarding their movies and I simply cannot wait for what they have planned. If you need a reminder about what movies/television shows are in their phase 3, check this out.

I think I am most excited for Captain America: Civil War, honestly. The Civil War storyline is absolutely one of my favorites, if not my favorite, about Tony Stark and the Avengers. I hope they don’t butcher it! I am reeeeaaaaallyyyy looking forward to that one.

However, of everything that is set to come out, only two things have me a little nervous. One – the television shows. For some reason Marvel and DC cannot get TV down like they’ve got each of their niches down (Marvel = movies, DC = video games, in my professional opinion). Agents of SHIELD was okay for as long as I watched it (I haven’t caught up completely yet), but really slow-moving. I attempted to watch Arrow but lost interest very quickly and Gotham absolutely SUCKS. So the fact that Marvel is making several new television shows makes me incredibly nervous.

The other thing that I’m a little wary of is how exactly the MCU plans on tying in Ant Man to the Avengers. From what I have heard/gathered, in the movie, Ultron is a creation of Tony Stark… which is soooo not how it happens in the comic books. For those of you who don’t know, in the Marvel comics, Ultron is the creation of Henry “Hank” Pym, also known as Ant Man. So the fact that the MCU wants to close up their phase 2 with the Ant Man movie… after Avengers: Age of Ultron comes out with Tony Stark being the creator… just bugs me. No pun intended. Okay, I lied. Pun intended.

Honestly, what do they plan on doing with Pym, then? I’m not a super huge Ant Man fan, but from what I recall, Ultron was kind of his biggest plot line, or at least ONE of his biggest plot lines. If they take that away, what are they going to make the movie about? And are they going with classic Hank Pym or really jerky Ultimate Hank Pym?

Regardless, I still plan on going to each of these movies on their midnight premieres, as per my usual plan. I also think I’m a bit more forgiving of the movies than a lot of serious hardcore comic book fans are because I also understand how things have to change to better suit a film or film series. (Thank you, Film Classes?) I’m sure I will enjoy anything that the MCU puts out, and I’ll probably be writing some movie reviews, too! I need to create some new Marvel cosplays to wear to each of these events, though. I’m running low. Got any ideas, guys? I can always use the feedback!

Leave a Reply

