This Is My Solemn Vow

Two Sundays ago, I got married. It was, literally, the best day of my entire life. I had never, ever been one to even think about the concept of marriage for myself for most of my life. I had several very bad relationships with some very bad people (and some not-so-bad-but-kind-of-boring relationships), and I was always of the mind that marriage was a beautiful thing, buuuuut it just wasn’t for me.

That was until I met my (now) husband, whom you all have seen me write about as Nerdy Guy. I wouldn’t say that it was love at first sight – because when we met neither of us were wearing our glasses. See, we met at the midnight premiere of The Dark Knight Rises. He was dressed as Batman, and I was dressed as Harley Quinn. (I know. Destiny, right? And at the time we had noooo idea.)

It was several months after that, that we actually started dating. But, booooyyyy I really didn’t want to. I was so sick of dating and I had just gotten out of the worst relationship of my life, so I had no desire whatsoever to start dating again. Not to mention, Nerdy Guy had also just been in a bad relationship. But he kept bugging me and bringing me coffee and flowers and such, so I decided to give him a chance (especially after my parents, brother, aunt, friends, strangers, and dogs – yes, my dogs loved him – all looked at me and went “WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU?! DATE HIM”, which was kind of convincing…).

And it was the best decision I had ever made. The very night that Nerdy Guy “officially” asked me out, it was January 19th/20th (3:00AM, okay??), 2014. He texted me, telling me that he felt as though I was the kind of woman that God had meant for him, and then he asked me out on a date. And I said yes.

Fast forward to December 13th, 2014, and he asked me to marry him. And I said yes again.

And then, not even two weeks ago, on May 17th, 2015, I said yes for a final time. And it’s been great ever since.

Considering recent events and some pretty big changes that are, and have been, going on in our lives, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to give you guys anything with a lot of substance for these blog posts. And today, although the words fill my heart, you might find this post to be fluffy and cute and bubbly and gross. But that’s okay, because I want to share it with you anyway. Nerdy Guy gave me permission to publicize the vows that we spoke to each other on the most important day of our lives, and I’d like to share them with you. The following are our vows – our names have been omitted for security reasons.

Mine will come first:

From the moment we met, God had planned for us to be together. After years of heart break and bad relationships, I had given up hope on ever meeting the man I had prayed for for so long. And then, unexpectedly, yet ironically, you stumbled into my life – literally dressed as a super hero. God has a funny way of doing things sometimes, but He knows us even better than we know ourselves. And He knew that I needed someone strong, whose heart was pure, whose faith was unshakable, and who would love me and only me, unconditionally. You were, and are, an answer to my prayers. I was so tired of masks. Luckily, the dorky guy dressed as Batman really was my hero, and always will be.

That is why, in the presence of God and this community, I, ________________ , take you, _____________ , to be my husband. To have and to hold, from this day forward, in joy and in sorrow, in plenty and in want, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, as long as we both shall live. This is my solemn vow.

Now, I gave you mine first so that you would be impressed with me before you saw how he outdid me while we were standing at the altar….

When we first met, I thought through my hot, rubber Bat cowl – “I’d really like to see her…. Really, I’d like to see her with my glasses on.” As Christians, we know little how God has so many great surprises in store. I was blind-sided (figuratively) by how amazing of a woman He has created you to be. He was so clear with my answered prayer. I never knew I could feel like this – like I’ve never seen the sky before. I cannot imagine a life without having you to share everything with. For you are “bone of my bone, flesh of my flesh,” but most importantly, heart of His heart. 

Today, forever and for always, I promise to be your support in the midst of any storm and sunny day. I promise to be the best leader of our home, letting the Navigator guide us through uncharted territory. I promise to serve you in sickness and in health, in being rich and being poor.

Lastly, I promise to love you until the end of time. In our love that we share, let there be no more talk of darkness; may we forget our wide-eyed fears. Know that whatever happens, I love you with every beat of my heart… to when it stops (and beyond). This, I make to God and to you, my solemn vow.

Yeah. Totally upstaged me. I know. *SIGH* But at least he’s adorable, right? Even if he did technically use song lyrics from Moulin Rouge and Phantom of the Opera. Total dork. But at least he’s my dork.

Check out some of our pictures below!

(Courtesy of Bella Bia Photography)

(I look like a rockstar, but in reality I was taking the mic stand away from the four year old trying to knock it over….)

(Yes, that IS a Harley and Joker wedding cake topper, which you can find HERE.)

(And here’s the happy couple. :D)

Have a great week, guys!

2 thoughts on “This Is My Solemn Vow

Leave a Reply

